Friday, December 03, 2004

How They Voted

Below is a list of how the MP's voted on yesterday’s Civil Union Bill, from the Herald, brought to my attention by DPF.

As a member of the Labour Party, I find it disappointing that 5 of our MP's voted against the bill. I was under the impression that we were a party which stood for social justice and the like? I think Damien O'Connor, John Tamihere, Harry Duynhoven, Ross Robertson, and Taito Phillip Field should really look at who they're representing in Parliament, and whether they're with the right party. Luckily, they're all going no where in a hurry.

I heard Peter Brown say on the radio the other morning that the New Zealand First caucus had decided to vote for a referendum. Someone obviously left Brian Donneley and Ron Mark out of the loop...

AYES: 65
Jim Anderton (Prog C, Wigram)
Rick Barker (Lab, Tukituki)
Tim Barnett (Lab, Christchurch Central)
David Benson-Pope (Lab, Dunedin South)
Georgina Beyer (Lab, Wairarapa)
Sue Bradford (Greens, list)
Mark Burton (Lab, Taupo)
Chris Carter (Lab, list)
Steve Chadwick (Lab, Rotorua)
Ashraf Choudhary (Lab, list)
Helen Clark (Lab, Mt Albert)
Michael Cullen (Lab, list)
David Cunliffe (Lab, New Lynn)
Lianne Dalziel (Lab, Christchurch East)
Rod Donald (Greens, list)
Brian Donnelly (NZ First, list)
Helen Duncan (Labour, list)
Ruth Dyson (Lab, Banks Peninsula)
Ian Ewen-Street (Greens, list)
Russell Fairbrother (Lab, Napier)
Jeanette Fitzsimons (Greens, list)
Martin Gallagher (Lab, Hamilton West)
Phil Goff (Lab, Mt Roskill)
Mark Gosche (Lab, Maungakiekie)
Ann Hartley (Lab, Northcote)
George Hawkins (Lab, Manurewa)
Dave Hereora (Lab, list)
Rodney Hide (ACT, list)
Marian Hobbs (Lab, Wellington Central)
Pete Hodgson (Lab, Dunedin North)
Parekura Horomia (Lab, Ikaroa-Rawhiti)
Darren Hughes (Lab, Otaki)
Jonathan Hunt (Lab, list)
Sue Kedgley (Greens, list)
Annette King (Lab, Rongotai)
Winnie Laban (Lab, Mana)
Keith Locke (Greens, list)
Janet Mackey (Lab, East Coast)
Moana Mackey (Lab, list)
Steve Maharey (Lab, Palmerston North)
Nanaia Mahuta (Lab, Tainui)
Trevor Mallard (Lab, Hutt South)
Ron Mark (NZ First, list)
Mahara Okeroa (Lab, Te Tai Tonga)
David Parker (Lab, Otago)
Mark Peck (Lab, Invercargill)
Jill Pettis (Lab, Whanganui)
Lynne Pillay (Lab, Waitakere)
Richard Prebble (ACT, list)
Katherine Rich (Nat, list)
Mita Ririnui (Lab, Waiariki)
Matt Robson (Prog C, list)
Heather Roy (ACT, list)
Dover Samuels (Lab, Te Tai Tokerau)
Ken Shirley (ACT, list)
Clem Simich (Nat, Tamaki)
Jim Sutton (Lab, Aoraki)
Paul Swain (Lab, Rimutaka)
Nandor Tanczos (Greens, list)
Judith Tizard (Lab, Auckland Central)
Metiria Turei (Greens, list)
Mike Ward (Greens, list)
Margaret Wilson (Lab, list)
Pansy Wong (Nat, list)
Dianne Yates (Lab, list)

NOES: 55
Paul Adams (UF, list)
Marc Alexander (UF, list)
Shane Ardern (Nat, Taranaki-King Country)
Larry Baldock (United Future, list)
Don Brash (Nat, list)
Peter Brown (NZ First, list)
Gerry Brownlee (Nat, Ilam)
David Carter (Nat, list)
John Carter (Nat, Northland)
Brent Catchpole (NZ First, list)
Deborah Coddington (ACT, list)
Judith Collins (Nat, Clevedon)
Brian Connell (Nat, Rakaia)
Gordon Copeland (UF, list)
Clayton Cosgrove (Lab, Waimakariri)
Peter Dunne (UF, Ohariu-Belmont)
Harry Duynhoven (Lab, New Plymouth)
Gerrard Eckhoff (ACT, list)
Bill English (Nat, Clutha-Southland)
Taito Phillip Field (Lab, Mangere)
Stephen Franks (ACT, list)
Sandra Goudie (Nat, Coromandel)
Bill Gudgeon (NZ First, list)
Phil Heatley (Nat, Whangarei)
Paul Hutchison (Nat, Port Waikato)
Dail Jones (NZ First, list)
John Key (Nat, Helensville)
Wayne Mapp (Nat, North Shore)
Murray McCully (Nat, Albany)
Craig McNair (NZ First, list)
Muriel Newman (ACT, list)
Damien O'Connor (Lab, West Coast-Tasman)
Bernie Ogilvy (UF, list)
Pita Paraone (NZ First, list)
Edwin Perry (NZ First, list)
Jim Peters (NZ First, list)
Winston Peters (NZ First, Tauranga)
Simon Power (Nat, Rangitikei)
Ross Robertson (Lab, Manukau East)
Tony Ryall (Nat, Bay of Plenty)
Lynda Scott (Nat, Kaikoura)
Lockwood Smith (Nat, Rodney)
Murray Smith (UF, list)
Nick Smith (Nat, Nelson)
Roger Sowry (Nat, list)
Barbara Stewart (NZ First, list)
John Tamihere (Lab, Tamaki Makarau)
Georgina te Heuheu (Nat, list)
Lindsay Tisch (Nat, Piako)
Tariana Turia (Te Tai Hauauru)
Judy Turner (UF, list)
Kenneth Wang (ACT, list)
Maurice Williamson (Nat, Pakuranga)
Doug Woolerton (NZ First, list)
Richard Worth (Nat, Epsom)

Listed on BlogShares